Application for a permit are accepted from only qualified applicants in accordance with the State of Florida by authority of Chapter 489 Part One of the Florida Statutes; or certificates of competency specifically approved by the Broward County Central Examination Board.
OWNER BUILDER EXEMPTION FROM LICENSURE
State law requires construction to be done by licensed contractors. You have applied for a permit under an exemption to that law. The exemption allows you as the owner of your property to act as your own contractor even though you do not have a license. You must supervise the construction yourself. You may build or improve a one, two, or three-family residence or a farm outbuilding. You may also build or improve a commercial building at a cost of $75,000 or less. The building must be for your own use and occupancy. It may not be built for sale or lease. If you sell or lease a building you have built yourself within one (1) year after the construction is complete, the law will presume that you built it for sale or lease, which is a violation of this exemption. You may not hire an unlicensed person as your contractor. It is your responsibility to make sure that people employed by you have licenses required by state law and by county or municipal licensing ordinances. Any person working on yourbuilding who is not licensed must work under your supervision and must be employed by you, which means that you must deduct F.I.C.A., and withholding tax and provide worker's compensation for that employee, all as prescribed by law. Your construction must comply with all applicable laws, ordinances, building codes, and zoning regulations.
The Florida Department of Professional Regulation (DPR) can request the Circuit Court to impose a civil penalty of up to $5,000 per incident and also be entitled to the collection of fees and cost incurred.
- 1. Worker's Compensation (for workers injured on the job).
- 2. Social Security Tax (must be deducted from the employee's wages and matched with the owner's funds).
- 3. Unemployment Compensation may be required.
- 4. Liability Coverage.
- 5. Federal Withholding Tax
MINIMUM PERMIT REQUIREMENTS